2015 New Releases in LGBTQ Young Adult Fiction

I’m continuing my habit of rounding of LGBTQ young adult fiction titles traditionally published (ie, that will likely receive professional reviews and be available for purchase through a library vendor). Here’s part 1 and part 2 of 2014 LGBTQ YA releases. I maintain this list as a guide to queer YA based on my presentations on readers’… Continue reading 2015 New Releases in LGBTQ Young Adult Fiction

Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I’ll admit that when Niven and the Random House marketing team pitched this one at ALA annual last summer, I was skeptical. This was perhaps at the height of my annoyance at every contemporary YA as being pitched as “for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.” But while I thought certain elements of the… Continue reading Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Audiobook Review: Sway by Kat Spears

I grabbed a bunch of audiobooks before Mister BS and I headed on a weekend roadtrip to a wedding. This is the one he chose to start, and it was a good life decision. We both loved the voice of the main character, the frank language and relatable plot, and the narration by Nick Poedhl… Continue reading Audiobook Review: Sway by Kat Spears

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

It’s been months since I read this, and I still can’t get over how much I loved this book. Rarely have I felt that a book has captured so fully what it is I love in character, in story, in structure, and in themes. I felt like I’ll Give You the Sun was written especially… Continue reading Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Roundup: New LGBTQ YA Fiction, Dystopian YA Romance, and Book Clubs

I haven’t had much time for blogging here, but I thought I’d share what I’ve recently written for other spots around the bookish corners of the internet. New and Forthcoming LGBTQ YA Fiction at YALSA’s The Hub I’m always excited to see more LGBTQ YA, and these are six titles I’m really excited about or have… Continue reading Roundup: New LGBTQ YA Fiction, Dystopian YA Romance, and Book Clubs