Book Review: The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

I was skeptical of this when I ordered it for the library, because I usually have this assumption that books set in the 90s (or the era in which the author was a teenager) don’t appeal to teens so much as adults who are looking for nostalgia for their own teenage years. But this story… Continue reading Book Review: The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I’ll admit that when Niven and the Random House marketing team pitched this one at ALA annual last summer, I was skeptical. This was perhaps at the height of my annoyance at every contemporary YA as being pitched as “for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.” But while I thought certain elements of the… Continue reading Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Book Review: Through the Woods: Stories by Emily Carroll

This is undoubtedly one of my favorite books of 2014. It’s delightfully creepy and beautifully illustrated. The understated horror of the series of stories are thought-provoking, preying on the basest of human fears. Through the Woods: Stories by Emily Carroll Published: July 15th 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books/ Simon & Schuster Source: local library ISBN: 9781442465954… Continue reading Book Review: Through the Woods: Stories by Emily Carroll

Audiobook Review: The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi

This book has one of the quirkiest and most off beat premises. It’s about a girl who faces two dilemmas: conquering her fear of learning how to drive and dealing with her mom, who happens to think she is Amelia Earhart. I absolutely loved it. The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi Published: April 22nd… Continue reading Audiobook Review: The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi

Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

I love when a series just continues to get better with each installment. The Raven Cycle series continues to delight and impress me, and holds up on a re-read (Mister BS and I are listening to it on audio. He’s obsessed). These characters, the atmospheric writing, and the complex, layered, plot make this a series… Continue reading Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater